Alzheimers and dementia support groups

An online support forum to help better identify the early onset dementia symptoms, different stages of dementia and caring for dementia patients.


Alzheimers Stages

pagepic 01 Alzheimers StagesAlzheimers Stages

According to Dr. Barry Reisberg there are seven major Alzheimers Stages that occur with this disease. Stage One is known as a normal stage. What this means is that any one can be free of symptoms of cognitive decline. This means that a person is mentally healthy—normal. Stage two is when a person reaches the age of 65 and experiences a few cognitive or memory complaints. The main complaint here is that he or she has a hard time remembering names or remembering where they have placed things. These emotional feelings are common and nothing to worry about.

Alzheimers Stages are Gradual but Consistent

In Stage Three mild and slight changes begin to take place in a patient and are noticed by those who are close to them. Such changes might be in a person asking the same question several times or a person may show decline in work abilities or a person who was good at planning event, shows a decline in planning the events. Stage Four symptoms and signs of Alzheimers stages can be more clearly seen. In this state the Alzheimer patient shows a declining ability to manage normal daily functions such as preparing meals for the family or guests, managing one’s finances and buying groceries and other necessities. In addition, in this stage there is also difficulty writing out checks—writing the correct date and amount on the check.

Alzheimers Stages are Noticeable at This Junction

In Stage Five Alzheimers stages kicks in even more with a noticeable change in the patient’s life. The patient at this level is unable to choose the right kind of clothing, have to be reminded to change clothing on a daily basis and in most cases, are not able to function on their own. Patients at this level often need someone to help them with the basic necessities of life such as what to eat and to ensure that bills are paid. This is the stage where a patient’s personality begins to change—where they show more signs of anger and distrust to others.

Stage 6 is when the patient becomes moderately severe when it comes to basic daily living activities. The patient begins to have a hard time putting on their clothes or brushing their teeth and often needs assistance. Some patients at this level are unable to put their arms in the right sleeve or put their clothing on backwards.

At Stage 7—which is considered to be a Severe Alzheimers stage, the patient requires constant help with daily activities. What is most noticeable at this stage is that the patient is limited in the words he or she can communicate to another. In addition, also moving about freely is almost gone. This is when the patient will need to use a wheelchair to get around. And, at this stage a patient may have trouble with medication, other physical concerns and understanding what is going on around him or her. When Alzheimers stages become noticeable and interfere in one’s life, that is the time to see your physician and neurologist.

Incoming search terms:

  • differencebetweenalzheimersanddementia|dementiasupportgroups|AlzheimersStages
  • alzheimer\s stages
  • NULL
  • alzheimers dementia
  • alzheimers and dementia
  • alzheimers dementia difference
  • difference between alzheimer and dementia
  • difference between alzheimers and dementia
  • ealzheimersstages com/

Great offers on SALE this week

Online Memory Test

    What take an online memory test?:

  • Again, it must be reiterated that forgetfulness is something that people usually ignore, but it is often the first sign of Alzheimer's disease.
  • An online memory test gives a rough estimate of how good a person's memory is. Most of these tests can be are free and can be completed in under 30 minutes.
  • A low score on a memory test may indicate that a person has a memory problem.
  • it is important to note that these tests are not meant to be diagnostic. Only a physician can determine whether a person has Alzheimer's disease.
  • There are two main types of online memory tests, visual and verbal. A verbal test gives a person a sequence of words to remember. A visual test gives a person pictures or numbers to remember.

Many people would have found that they have Alzheimer's disease earlier if they would have taken an online memory test. Alzheimer's disease is a condition that causes the brain cells to deteriorate. As a result of the lost brain cells, a person will experience a decline in mental function. Other symptoms of Alzheimer's disease include: depression, anxiety, stubbornness and social withdrawal. A person with Alzheimer's disease may also have the tendency to wander and get lost.

Alzheimer's disease most often occurs in people who are in their 40s and 50s. However, it is important to note that it is possible for people who are younger than 40 to develop this condition. Researchers have also found that people who have certain illnesses such as high blood pressure and diabetes are also at an increased risk for developing this condition. Additionally, women and those who have a family history of Alzheimer's disease are more likely to develop it.

The symptoms of Alzheimer's start off mild and then get worse as the condition becomes more advanced. Because the symptoms of this condition are initially mild, they can easily be overlooked. For example, a person may attribute his or her forgetfulness to getting older. That is why people who are becoming increasingly forgetful should consider taking an online memory test.